Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many museums charge entrance fees to the public, while others are completely free. Many individuals think that visiting museums is supposed to be free. In my opinion, however, I believe there are more benefits for museums to charge for admission. Served as public spaces, museums have their own special significance to people, and there are some advantages to opening for free. For example, people with lower incomes can visit museums even if they don't have enough money. The cultural gap between rich and poor can therefore be narrowed. It will also encourage more residents to visit museums and experience their cultural heritage, thus improving local people's sense of belonging. Moreover, more tourists from other countries will visit museums if the places are available for free. It can stimulate the cultural interactions between different nations. Acknowledging free opening does have some benefits, but there are more advantages for museums to charge for admission. Firstly, the entrance fee can be a steady source of income and thus museums can offer better quality of content. Secondly, governments can utilize more advanced techniques to preserve things displayed in museums because using these techniques usually requires lots of money. As a result, the antiquities can be well-protected without imposing high taxes on local people. Finally, it can effectively deter thefts, with the thieves more likely to be discouraged by the rise of the entrance threshold. In conclusion, I can understand why some people think that museums should be opened for free, but it seems more beneficial to me that museums should charge some reasonable entrance fee.