How should we ensure that television is a positive influence in the life of children?

Due to the growth of technologies,many parents believe that they can be harmful to their children. Kids spend lots of time in front of the television and unfortunately, might pick up bad behaviour. However, there are ways for parents to ensure that television has only a positive impact on their adolescent. The first solution is to control the amount of time a child spends watching movies and tv shows. Instead, parents can suggest different activities and try to spend time together. For instance, a kid can be allowed to watch television only 2 hours a day after school to have a break before starting their homework. In this way, children would not waste their valuable time on unnecessary programs. Another solution is for a parent to monitor the type of tv shows and movies that their child is watching on regular basis. Some of them might be inappropriate for their age. For example, there are lots of movies nowadays that are not suitable for a child under 16 years old, since they contain many violent and aggressive scenes. This might affect in bad sleep and traumatized psyche. There are many documentaries available, so parents should encourage their kids to watch programs that are useful. Last but not least, adults should set up an example for their kids. If parents spend most of their time in front of the television, inevitably, their kid is going to pick up this behaviour and think that it is normal. All in all, there are many ways to protect children from harms of the television, but most of the solutions depend on the parents, as they are the one who has the biggest impact on their kids.