A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed. What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world? Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

The travel industry is a significant source of livelihood in various places, however, there are implications as well due to mismanagement. This essay believes that the aid in the economy has a bigger weight on the environmental sabotage it may bring to a country. Tourism is an essential source of income for individuals and revenue for the government. This is because in a tourist spot, jobs are created for the locals and numerous tax-paying industries inclined to travel are established. For instance, Boracay island in the Philippines, internationally famous for its pristine water and white sand beach, has a booming economy. Hotels, restaurants, recreational areas, malls, spas, and other businesses in the vicinity help in providing occupations to people and the tax from visitors and these establishments give the government a high profit. As a result, there is self-sufficiency for both individuals and the area. Nonetheless, the act of people going to places for leisure and recreation has its ramifications. People come and go at a fast pace, and so are the garbages they leave. Furthermore, because of the demand for accomodating the tourists and their needs, buildings that are erected can disrupt the natural scenery or disfigure the land that is occupied. For example, a condominium built behind the Philippines' national hero's monument was highly controversial as it became an eyesore to the setting, especially in photos. Nevertheless, the government should impose and implement strict laws and policies regarding waste and land management in order to avoid or resolve the disagreeable consequences, or else it will be more grave if their source of money will be completely destroyed. In conclusion, in my perspective, travel has remarkably aided in boosting the economy by giving earnings to a nation and its people. Nevertheless, the environmental ramification and unsightly effects could be reduced or even eliminated by a firm and systematic approach in running the law by the state.