Many people continue to use cars and motorcycles even though they know that they are bad for the environment. Why is this? What can be done to reduce the use of these vehicles?

At large, most individuals use their own main of transport even though it is considered as harmful for the environment. This essay will examine the main root cause that makes owners use their own vehicles and then provide some options to address this problem. The main reason that makes people prefer to use their own vehicle is that it is the fastest way to commute between places. As most cities are currently hectics, people rather use their own transport to avoid wasting time whereas if they do not use it they would probably be late for their commitments. Therefore, as vehicles are accessible to everyone nowadays, people end up purchasing their own cars as a comfortable alternative and also for being convenient. For example, when there is a storm coming, people tend to use the car to avoid staying wet and also because of the comfort it offers. Nevertheless, considering the overuse of cars are harmful to the planet, there is some raft of measures that the State could have adopted to tackle with this problem. One solution that could be set up was the improvements in public transportation. It is known that most of the cities are prone to leave public transport as a second plan and not raise funds enough to its infrastructure; thus, it causes a shortage of trains, busses, and so on, thereby, people do not rely on it mostly because it is always bustling, which leads them to prefer to use their own cars. Another solution to be considered is the increase in tax burden. As it is considered cheap to purchase vehicles nowadays, the government should raise the tax burden when people buy a new one. Therefore, individuals would think again if it is worth to purchase a new car or try to use public transport. To illustrate, in some places such as the Netherlands where it is extremely cheaper to use trains or busses in comparison to cars which lead these countries to reduce the number of car owners. In conclusion, people keep purchasing new vehicles instead of using public transport due to the fact that is the fastest way to commute, which is highly harmful to the environment. However, some solutions could be adopted to solve this issue like making improvements in public transport as well as increasing the tax burden on new vehicles purchased.