The international community must act immediately to ensure that all countries reduce the consumption of fossil fuels (e.g. gas and oil). To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that global organisations should propose countries around the world cut down fossil energy dependence immediately. In my point of view, this would be a short-sighted opinion. Humanity is indeed faced with vital environmental issues, for example, climate change and air pollution, both of which are a result of fossil fuels combustion. To mitigate carbon as well as pollutants emissions, world scientists and engineers have introduced a series of alternative energy sources. For instance, nuclear power plants and tidal energy. However, these potential solutions were adequate to fulfil the energy demands at the current time. Statistical evidence indicates coals, gas and petroleum were still the major sources of electric generalisation, warming, and transportation, respectively. Moreover, businesses like the shipping industry powered by fuels cover more than 90 percent of crop trading, while an alternative has not yet been engaged. A sharp decrease in fossil fuel consumption is not a realistic approach. The transition from reliance on fuels to clean energy requires comprehensive planning and a substantial amount of time. Additionally, the proponents of this idea did not consider the social-economic variation among different countries. Renewable technologies are not cost-efficient at this moment. For developing nations, equipment like solar panels and wind electric generators could be hardly unaffordable. Furthermore, addressing national problems, for example, food and water security, those essentials for living are the priorities. Transition to renewable energy at the current time would further hinder the prosperity of their societies. A dramatic reduction in fuels consumption would be an unsustainable goal to achieve at this time. In conclusion, forcing every country around the world to decrease the use of fossil fuels immediately would be an immature thought. In order to realise the goal of environmental sustainable development, multiple aspects across the social and national need to be carefully considered and robustly planned.