In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the Internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

A common practice for humans in the past was to commute to their job. However, due to the development of the technologies, a larger amount of employees are beginning to use their home as an office. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on this topic and present some benefits and drawbacks. To begin with, the main advantage is that our homes provide a more convenient atmosphere than offices do. Even though an individual can decorate their desk at work, the feeling of working from home is certainly more relaxing and can increase the efficiency of many employees. For example, a person does not need to dress up formally, apart from the situations where there is a conference or a meeting. Therefore, people will feel less stressed and this will boost their productivity. On the other hand, one possible drawback is the lack of communication between colleagues. Since we are spending our time away from our co-workers, we are decreasing our communication skills and the ability to work in a team. Despite the fact that colleagues can use apps, such as zoom or skype, to do their job, the real connection between them can be shaken. Furthermore, the process of transmission of documents or working materials can be seriously affected. For instance, if a worker needs to hand an original document to their boss, they will need to arrange a meeting point, an hour in which both of them are available, and other details. Nevertheless, this can be avoided if they are both at the office. To summarise, there are some negative and positive aspects of working from home. An advantage is a relaxing atmosphere and the disadvantages are the lack of communication and the slow pace of document transportation.