You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. To what extent do you agree? You should write at least 254 words.

The media these days is following celebrities more than ever before. Some people think this may have a harmful impression on adolescents. However, I am of the belief that it is not as straight forward as it looks. To begin with, negative coverage of celebrities can cause several issues for the children. The media industry these days seems to be more interested in the newsworthy shortcomings than the true and complete picture, which makes their fans, especially the young ones, more depressed and concerned. For example, in India, the excessive coverage of S S Rajput's suicide had caused emotional breakdowns in several schools. Next, the celebrities are quite influential and their expensive habits cause youth to walk on a dark path. In the urge to wanting-to-be like their favourite figures, kids in my country have gone as far as stealing from their parents just to buy that one outfit or jewellery. In contrast, we can also witness some positive influences from these entertainers. Youngsters look up to their favourite celebrities and want to become like them. Furthermore, their success provides the children with much-needed inspiration and motivation to achieve more in their lives. For instance, several great artists, actors and sportspersons have dedicated their success to their counterparts, they have followed growing up, in their respective fields. Additionally, these entertainers pave the path and become the guiding light for future generations by showing the rules of behaviour. Owing to their mistakes youth learns what to avoid and get to see what is possible from their achievements. In conclusion, it seems that the effect really depends on the mindset of the person who consumes the information on their role model. Where some may get negatively influenced, others seem to have turned it into the fuel for their flight. Having said that, if the media focuses on positive things as well, it may offset the negative consequences.