Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Zoos, by some individuals, which are considered to be cruel, by the remaining ones, are claimed to be useful in terms of preserving forest animals. In my opinion, though, with the zoos, the certain drawbacks can be associated, in this case, the upsides seem to outweigh the downsides. To initiate the disadvantages of keeping the wild animals in the zoos. The first and foremost is torturing that may lead to death. To explain, in most of the zoos, when the animals are used for the purpose of entertaining the people, they have to work for a long time. As a result, they feel tired and unable to stand for a long time. Due to this, they are thrashed or even tortured with the high dose of chemical injections also that might become the reason for their death. To cite an example, the elephant is one the popular animal among all, perhaps which is largely tortured in the zoos because of entertaining the people especially, children. Zoos can have an influx of disadvantages. Having said that, the benefits seem to be more. The primary one is animals are safe and secure. To elaborate, animals have lost their habitat because the forest is cut for the evolution of mankind. That is why zoos are the only best place for those animals who are endangered and at the risk of extinction. For example, Bengal tiger, which is very popular not only in India but also throughout the world, is protected in the zoos because of large scale hunting. In conclusion, though zoos may have some drawbacks because of torturing the animals, they are largely beneficial as they save the lives of animals.