Some people think the news has no real connection to people’s lives, so reading newspapers or watching news programmes on television is a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree?

Some media platforms are exclusively for letting people know what is happening in the world and also in specific locations. Some individuals think that getting news through TV and newspapers is just time-wasting because of the lack of connection between the news and people’s lives. I believe that receiving news through these media is important because people can be safer and more conscious if knowing what is happening. The news programmes on TV and newspapers are important ways of creating awareness about real problems. If the population does not receive any information about the weather forecast, for instance, they can face unexpected rain or even worse, a strong storm. This could put their life at risk or at least make their daily life more difficult. The lack of basic information like the weekly forecast can cause damage to individuals’ lives as well as damage to their houses in case of a tornado/hurricane. Thus, there is a real connection between what we see through the media and what happens in real life. TV and Newspapers can be very useful if you focus on what you like. For example, if you love football and want to know the score of the matches, you may read or watch this through these media. Receiving the information that you like is not a waste of time. People can also find interesting announcements about jobs and new businesses that can help them to succeed in their careers. Looking for a job in the newspaper is a traditional method that helps many young and adults to find a better position. Therefore, many people can use the TV or newspaper to only get the information they want and that helps them on their objectives. To conclude, I believe that news delivered through TV or newspapers is really important for people to get to know what they like or want. Also, Individuals can be aware of the weather conditions that can cause damage to their belongings as well as put their lives at risk.