Scientists agree that many people eat too much junk food and it is damaging their health. Some people think that this problem can be solved by educating people, while others believe that education will not work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, research proves that the amount of fast food consumed is out of control, moreover, it can cause unhealthy situations and even diseases. When it comes to the solutions to this issue, there are two contrasting opinions, one supposes that is able to dealt with by education, whereas another disagrees with the effects of educating people. The essay will discuss both sides and explain why I agree with the latter idea. On the one hand, improving people's awareness of detrimental substances contained in fast food seems to be the most possible way to keep them away from that harmful diet. This is because many individuals do not realize how acute dishes like burgers and chips can attack them. The case of some developing countries where human health is not taken seriously is an example. Citizens there only concentrate on the convenience that junk food service brings about, not its long-term consequences. Therefore, people would consider carefully about their eating habits if they were educated. On the other hand, it can be said that education usually has no use. Nowadays, consumers are able to access information simply, so they may all know the junk food's terrible effects. However, perhaps they do not care much about them. A piece of evidence that can be offered is Coke, one of the most popular soft drink brands in the world. Despite the fact that everyone knows it includes high levels of added sugar and processed preservatives, which leads to health problems such as obesity, diabetes and so on, nobody has an intention to modify the habit of drinking it regularly. Moreover, the apathetic attitude of individuals is also recognized via the rapidly increasing sales and the constant appearance of fast food restaurants like McDonald's or KFC in every corner from urban to rural areas. To summarize, although educating people has certain impacts on coping with this issue, its scale is extremely small and insignificant. Hence, I personally believe education has never been a good solution to resolve the problem of fast- food consumption.