Parents often buy their children many toys. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children having a large number of toys?

Nowadays, the market offers a wide variety of games to all age groups which is resulting in children being bombarded with a lot of toys from their parents. This essay will highlight some of the positives and negatives that result from such an approach. To begin with the benefits, the crucial advantage of presenting a large number of toys to the kids is that it helps them to learn basic things. This is because the brain of the child at a younger age has a lot of power to grasp, which helps them to learn things quickly. For instance, a kid at the age of 2-3 years will be able to identify the animals by their different sound patterns with the help of toys which are designed for that purpose. Along with this, parents often feel that such an approach will keep their kids well prepared with the necessary knowledge before they join the school. Conversely, if they are not provided with toys, they would tend to choose the television or other media as their source of entertainment which might be harmful to their eyes. However, the method of buying more toys for the kids also present some disadvantages, the most important of which is that they tend to lack discipline. For example, if the parents disagree to purchase additional toys, they might become stubborn and display anger in their behaviour. This is because they would have got into a habitual nature of receiving such accessories from the young age. Furthermore, this system would make them get adjusted to the home environment, rather than going out and playing with other kids of the same age. As a result, they might not develop the skills of communication. In conclusion, although giving toys to the children in beneficial in terms of them able to quickly learn new things and be well advanced in their curriculum, it is also important to consider that this approach can make an impact on their behavioural pattern and socializing structure.