Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack of sleep cause? What can be done about lack of sleep?

Sleep deprivation affects many people in the present days. Although short sleep periods bring many problems, it is possible to combat it successfully. This essay looks at some problems caused by lack of sleep and suggests some solutions to the problems. Not enough sleep causes many undesirable effects. The effects can be seen both in body and mind. For example, when someone does not sleep long enough, the body has difficulty to manage properly the recovery needed to keep muscles and organs in good function. As a consequence, headaches and weakness can be common symptoms. Another issue could be a lowering in concentration, provoking bad results in intellectual activities avoiding an advance in school and work outcomes. However, this is a trouble that can be treated. Modern lifestyle imposes new ways to deal with information and social interactions. People are more connected and this delays the moment to go sleep. It is necessary to reduce the use of electronic devices, especially smartphones, to eliminate distractions at bedtime. Otherwise, there are medical treatments for this issue. In some hospitals sleep can be monitored and more intense treatment to solve the problem are proposed by specialists in this field. In conclusion, short sleep causes serious problems affecting body function and recovery and reducing the level of concentration. The best approach to solve this is reducing the use of electronic devices not to stay connected at night and, in more severe cases, medical treatment by means of special apparatus and a specialist sight. Following these two steps could be an effective way to reduce this problem each day more common among people.