In some countries the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation, and discourages private vehicle ownership. Do disadvantages of this situation outweigh the advantages?

Public transport is often perceived to be a more appropriate alternative for car use by the government in some countries. I believe that despite the apparent benefit of this approach such as mitigating the negative impact on the environment, there are indisputable disadvantages relating to inconveniences of using the municipal transport system. On the one hand, the major benefit associated with the development of an urban transportation system instead of using private cars is an opportunity to reduce traffic congestion, thereby diminishing air pollution. On no account should the influence of cars' exhaust gases on the environment be ignored. This is because car use causes an increase in emission of toxic and harmful health substances, which, among other things, contribute to global warming, smog, and acid precipitation. However, according to statistics, transportation contributes only 15% of world greenhouse gas emissions totally, and this share might be further reduced by a consistent transition to alternative fuel sources for cars, such as electricity or liquid biofuels. On the other hand, a major problem is closely tied not only to operating timetables and frequencies of public transportation but also to the inconvenience of using it. This is because in the case of an unexpected accident on a road there is no other option to achieve a destination but to wait for the next bus or tram. Furthermore, no matter how developed the public transport system is, the distant city districts and suburbs are not always enough covered by a network of routes, and if they are, then only with a limited frequency of travel. As a result, if it were not for owning a private automobile, there would be problematic to ride anywhere without an explicit route and time planning. For example, according to the article by The Malaysian Insight, commuters in Kuala Lumpur were holding back from using public transport so long as connectivity between certain far areas had been recovered. In conclusion, I am strongly convinced that significant shortcomings of stimulation a shift from private vehicles to public transport outweigh those potential benefits, which this approach is likely to provide. This is because public transport is unlike to provide an appropriate level of mobility and flexibility, whereas automobiles do. Therefore, in the first place, it is essential to prioritize the needs of city dwellers otherwise the implemented measures are certain to meet the strongest resistance from citizens, especially private car owners.