Whether or not someone achieves their aims in life is mostly a question of luck. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate over whether luck is the primary determinant of success in achieving targets has gained a great source of controversy from intense public and personal interests. While a school of thought asserts that fortune is considered the main precursor of one’s goal, I believe that hard work and determination are far more important than luck. Plenty of evidence and arguments could easily be found to prove that luck plays a vital role in achieving outcomes in life. Firstly, if people are born in a high-income class, they are provided with a solid educational background as well as good living conditions, which stands a better chance of landing a high-paid job and better quality of life in the future. Secondly, some people are endowed with a special talent such as linguistic intelligence, an attractive appearance, they could gain a competitive edge over other counterparts when applied for a job or engage in any competitions. For example, a candidate has an aptitude for music, coupled with a powerful physical voice, which takes her a short time to become a master's in the music field. This means that her path leading to success is shorter compared to others with a normal ability. Notwithstanding the aforementioned advantages of having good fortune in life, I am convinced that there are a host of factors that are far more necessary to get outstanding achievements. One justification is that the role of being industrious and determined should not be taken lightly. Thomas Edison, one of the greatest inventors of the 20 century, is an excellent example of such a notion. He conducted numerous experiments with filament until the finest light bulb was produced, his hard work rather than luck, was acknowledged by all human race. Another rationale for my belief is that fortune could only lead people to short-term achievements, and there is nothing to ascertain that it would continue to exist in the long run. This is the reason why in many cases, lottery winners lead to bankruptcy soon after. Thus, over-reliance on good fortune, as a result, prevents people from achieving their long-term or life-long aims. In conclusion, I would contend that the importance of luck is overstated, while there are much more significant elements to consider, namely diligence and constancy.