In some culture, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving this message?

In some settings, youngsters are commonly informed that attaining any height achievable is possible with hard work. While the advantages of this are beneficial to them, the drawbacks of expecting too much from the world as it is and risking disappointment cannot be overlooked. From my perspective, the merits of encouraging children and giving them hope in unlimited possibilities cannot be overemphasized. Furthermore, having the spirit of optimism is a worthy character in juvenile development. Moreover, this act can impact positively on their attitude as adults. To illustrate, offsprings of individuals who continuously encourage them, approach life with a positive mindset. Therefore, it is of good intent to preach unlimited growth to children. In contrast, there are unimaginable downsides associated with this, which include, but not limited to, having exuberant expectations in the proceeds of the world. Also, losing trust in their parents as a result of this false hope given should not be ignored. For instance, a recent study done at the University of Washington shows that a greater number of delinquents lost their interest due to shattered dreams. The disadvantages of letting them believe so much in the life of today exist nevertheless. In conclusion, a good number of cultures provide information about a perfect world with unlimited attainment to kids these days. Although this singular act enhances better development in character, its harmful effects should not be overlooked. It is safe to say that the beneficiaries are more than those negatively affected by this, but parents should be advised to combine both aspects in raising their offsprings.