Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their pupils, while other schools have a very relaxed dress code. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?

In recent times, it has become really popular for schools to introduce uniforms for their students and take extra care in assuring they look proper and decent during academic periods. However, others do not actually put much effort into controlling their students’ appearance. But what are the benefits of wearing uniforms, and what are the drawbacks? On one hand, the main benefit of having a uniform is that all of the students in the establishment are dressed the same. In other words, individuals that belong to well-off families do not have the opportunity to show off expensive clothes and accessories. In this way, children from disadvantaged environments would not feel inferior to others. Another advantage of this matter would be that students wearing the uniform of a specific school can be easily recognised in case of an emergency or an accident. That is, if an individual is involved in a tragic situation, like a car accident, the authorities can use the school clothes to identify the child, therefore, the relatives can be notified faster. Turning to the other side of the argument, perhaps the biggest disadvantage of introducing uniforms is that some households do not have the means to purchase them. This is because children change their clothes’ size almost every year and a lot of financial pressure is put on their families. For example, some of them could easily use everyday clothes and their parents would not be obliged to buy new uniforms each academic year. Another major drawback would be that by making everyone wear the same clothes, children are not able to express their personality and creativity. For instance, a lot of adolescents might want to follow the latest fashion trends and show their creative side, but with uniforms, they are not able to to that. To conclude, introducing uniforms is challenging with both positive and negative aspects that concern different areas and environments; however, my opinion is that wearing uniforms is an excellent way to control students’ appearance and ensure they respect their institution’s regulations. Furthermore, I think that the government should introduce programs to help impoverished families with school clothing expenses