Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays, all over the world, people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels.

Many aspects of culture and people's lifestyles are becoming increasingly similar throughout the world. Although this trend has some benefits, I would agree that the disadvantages are more noteworthy. On the one hand, the global reach of fashion brands, similar eating habits and similar traditions of people have some major benefits. For instance, Starbucks, the renowned coffee chain, has grown from a single outlet in Seattle to as many as 30,000 shops in around sixty countries. Nearly identical stores serve cups of coffee to hundreds and thousands of customers, no matter whether you are sipping it in New York, London, New Delhi, Melbourne or Istanbul. Thus the global business opportunity enables many brands to sell products all around the world. As a result, people can enjoy fashion, food and other aspects of diverse nationalities staying at home country. A stronger bond could be observed among people no matter where they live as a consequence of their similar lifestyle. Thus the differences among nations are reducing and this is quite helpful in maintaining world peace. On the other hand, this trend has some striking disadvantages that we should be cautious about. Firstly, the spread of cross-cultural materialistic lifestyles and attitudes makes us less human and more selfish. For example, the role of TV advertisements by global brands, in most cases, is related to the concept of materialism. We are affected by terminal materialism that forces us to buy things for the sake of buying, instead of buying for basic needs. Secondly, with the aggressive spread of market economies and communication technology, local cultures and values are in peril. The true identity and culture are in jeopardy with the influence of alien cultures and the new generation cares less about their history and tradition. In conclusion, it seems to me that the drawbacks of globalisation and the similar lifestyle of people due to the similar culture in the world far outweigh the few advantages it has.