Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The annual extinction of many languages is accelerating. While some argue that this is a grave issue, others believe that it is a course of the natural process and we would benefit from fewer languages. In my opinion, I personally agree that fewer global languages make communication more convenient, diminish the culture barrier and enhance international trade facilities. On the one hand, those who advocate saving every language in the world form their opinion on the basis that every language represents a unique culture. The disappearance of a language means the end of a culture and tradition of people who use the language. Therefore, to preserve the rich and diverse culture of a region, the native language must be protected. However, a large number of languages around the world have only a handful of speakers and preserving them is highly improbable. A language lives as long as there are still people who use it, so with the globalisation and mass-migration trend, saving languages from extirpation have become even tougher. The fewer languages, the better the conversation is to explain one's emotion and feeling. There will be no language barriers, and people will exchange ideas that will eventually help to develop vibrant relationships. Moreover, a world with fewer languages enhances global trade and improves the political relations among nations. In this age of globalization, it is highly beneficial to speak a common language in order to avoid confusion and facilitate effective communication. Using a link language like English has helped nations to come closer and increased trade and commerce among them. We cannot expect the world as a common platform if we have severe communication and cultural gaps among nations. For a prosperous future where people understand each other perfectly, we only need a handful of languages spoken by all. In conclusion, saving every single language in the world is unnecessary. I prefer a world with less cultural and communication barrier with effective communication among all with fewer languages.