Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The choice in favour of studying literature in high school is widely debated. While some pupils include literature in their curriculum and find it a useful activity, others consider these lectures as a waste of time. In my opinion, studying literature in high school is essential as it helps to broaden horizons and allows to identify students who are capable in this area and prepare them for future careers in the field of literary studies. First of all, the undeniable advantage of those who choose to study poems and novels is the acquisition of new knowledge. Besides the fact that the student can learn about the peculiarities of life in different eras and cultures, he also learns a comprehensive language. This knowledge can help prospective students during their studies at the university. According to the MSU study, students in the top 15 percent of the rankings were studying literature at school, what can show the connection between good education and knowledge of literature. Moreover, knowledge of prose and poetry gives the student the opportunity to show the talents. In high school, more complex literary works are usually taught. Understanding these works and actively participating in literature lessons, the pupil can pay attention to his or her talents and go to study at the literary faculty. The overwhelming majority of students of the faculty of literature decided to study literature at the university precisely because of the literature lessons they liked in high school, the study of the HSE shows. In conclusion, this essay discusses the importance of having literature in high school because of obtaining specific knowledge about the world and revealing students, who are talented in studying novels and poems.