Technology today such mobile phones is destroying social interactions. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people may believe that mobile phones are minimising social interactions, others think it creates more options to communicate than before. I believe the latter is true, new technologies become a new bridge to connect with others that there was no chance to connect with before. Firstly, technology offers helpful solutions for people to communicate remotely. For example, mobile applications like Viber and Skype are used by many to communicate with family members who are living abroad, which was extremely impossible before. That is because these applications are free and so easy to use. In contrast with an international phone call, that is so expensive and has so many technical problems. As a result, the new mobile phone technology is a way for people to communicate bypassing physical boundaries. Another advantage of the new technology is it creates new spaces to meet new people. To illustrate, there are many mobile applications that connect people who have the same interests or go to the same places, like Foursquare. It may seem an unconventional idea at first, but with time people especially young are increasing their circle of acquaintances in the speed of light. Alternatively, older generations had to physically visit numerous places and spend more time and effort to expand their social circle. Consequently, new technologies are a convenient tool to enhance networking with less effort. To conclude, new technology is full of potentials to serve people's chances to grow their social skills. It is a way to maintain existing relationships and to create new ones, regardless of the physical place or time.