Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To whtat extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that a group of people and the community have been experiencing a lot of problems with the advancement of technology, especially social networking sites. But I completely disagree with this statement, as social networking sites have been playing a crucial role not only in human lives but also in the development of society. There are a number of reasons why social networking sites have positively impacted individuals and society. One possible reason is that a person who lives in a remote area is easily able to participate in the long-distance learning programme by using Facebook, LinkedIn, and Instagram. For example, during the pandemic in 2020, students used to have their education through social networking sites, particularly WhatsApp and Zoom. Another reason is that nowadays people are mostly dependent on social networking sites, as they help them communicate with loved ones through instant messaging and video call facilities. Besides, people are able to get information promptly through social media about the development of society. On the other hand, in this contemporary world, people, especially adolescents, tend to commit various crimes, such as blackmailing, fraud, and gambling, by using social media sites. Additionally, some low-grade companies have been preferring social media to advertise their low-quality products among their targeted customers. For instance, because of the rise of digital marketing through Facebook, Instagram, or other social sites, it is very easy to sell third-grade goods at a high price as consumers are encouraged by colourful advertisements. In a nutshell, although social networking sites have some downsides for individuals and communities, in my perspective, social networking sites are always useful as they contribute to developing people's lives and society by providing lots of facilities, including information, digital marketing, and a long-distance education system.