Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required

The proliferation of the-state-of-the-art technology has paved the way for online shopping. In recent years, it is widely acknowledged that online shopping has gained massive popularity. From my viewpoint, this growing trend has had a profound impact on the environment as well as employment. Plenty of evidence and arguments could easily be found to prove that online shopping bestowed numerous benefits upon the environment. Firstly, e-commerce decreases exhaust emissions released to the environment. In fact, when purchasing goods from physical stores, each household has to drive separately. By contrast, delivery trucks could take orders to many customers on a single route. Therefore, this could contribute to eliminating car trips and carbon emissions which often exacerbate air pollution and give a rise to global warming. Secondly, internet shopping appears more economical than the traditional one. For example, in this day and age, click-and-mortar shops are more and more prevalent, people just need to set up a Facebook page or an intelligent marketing strategy which is possible for them to run a business on their own and earn huge profits from this. This means this type of business dispenses with brick-and-mortar operations such as administrative staff, a larger amount of poverty used to build stores, thereby making a great contribution to environmental protection. The rising prevalence of electronic shopping has had noteworthy impacts on employment trends in terms of both benefits as well as drawbacks. In the first place, the emergence of new job opportunities is attributable to online shopping. To illustrate, to operate an online business to sell products to customers, plenty of work is required in many areas including digital marketing, web design, and program development. More importantly, these types of occupations give employees a high salary. As a result, people could stand a better chance of landing a high-paid job and bettering their quality of life. In the second place, as this type of shopping has become prevalent, it has gradually overtaken many physical stores, forcing many of these traditional places to downsize to survive in this increasingly competitive market. If stores fail to adopt e-commerce into their business practices. The unemployment rate on mass is inevitable. In conclusion, the tendency of cyber shopping which is remarkably widespread among modern society has brought about both merits and demerits upon both environment and job market.