In some countries, the number of shootings increases because many people have guns at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Across the globe, the crime rate is on the surge, out of which assassinations are on the prime list. One of the causes asserted for the increase in shootings is that many individuals own a firearm in their house. In my view, private gun ownership is not a single cause for these crime statistics there are several other factors contributing to such behavior. To commence with, the government has passed a law for owning a weapon at home which in turn gives an opportunity to criminal minds for killing people due to easy accessibility. Moreover, this litigation was put into practice for security purposes, indeed it turned out to be dangerous for the nation. As per the statistics, it has been noted that a person has killed another living being for entertainment purposes or half-witted quarrel reasons. Secondly, the practice of having a weapon at home is also perilous for children and teenagers. This is because minors do not have the requisite knowledge or maturity to handle guns safely. Therefore, one should be cautious about the use of guns and also should take the responsibility to handle it with care. On the contrary, guns are not always to be blamed for the spike in the delinquency rate. Other elements such as the surrounding environment and poverty have led to criminal activities. Likewise, the circumstances in slums are not favorable to acquire the ability to distinguish between right and wrong. Also, the literacy rate in such areas is less due to which most of the population is encouraged to commit criminal offences. In the second place, racism and social discriminating culture has also bestowed in criminality. This has given rise to social or religious fanatics who have committed a number of crimes. For example, it has been seen that social disputes among Hindus and Muslims have resulted in a massive number of murders. To sum up, qun weapons to an extent are the cause for shootings but it cannot be solely blamed as there are several aspects to be considered such as social background and religious discriminations.