Some people think that increasing the cost of fuel is one of the best ways to solve environmental problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Environmental pollution and degradation are affecting countries on a global scale. Thus, the solutions to these problems should be given the highest priority. Some people suggest that one of the best ways to resolve this issue is to raise the cost of fuels. My view is that this method may work to some extent, but other approaches are needed for a sustainable future. One reason is that the consumption of fuels is not the only factor in environmental damage. If governments do raise electricity prices, it is likely to help reduce the amount of carbon dioxide in air, lowering the levels of global warming and acidification. However, this will not help alleviate other hazardous problems such as deforestation, water pollution and chemical waste. Another apparent reason is that fuels are vastly applied to manufacture and agriculture, indirectly influencing the market price of daily necessities. If gas prices rise, the poor and middle families can hardly maintain a living, and economic development may be negatively affected. On the other hand, more reasonable and eco-friendly solutions need considering rather than high gas prices, such as adopting alternative resources and renewable efficiency technologies. These methods will result in low dissemination of pollutants and prevent the exhaustion of fuels. In many countries, wind, solar and hydropower have been deployed as power sources and have demonstrated high efficiency in energy production. Another long-run solution could be a more effective use of public transportation. If the average person can commute by affordable and comfortable buses and trains, they will start using them regularly and this, in turn, leads to less traffic congestion and air pollution. To conclude, increasing fuel charges is not an appropriate way to solve environmental problems. Measures, such as developing new power resources and building a better public transport system, should be implemented to tackle this situation.