Some people think that increasing business and cultural contacts worldwide have positive influences on development; others think that they have negative effects on national identities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As globalization is becoming an irreversible trend, and individuals are having increasing connections with overseas on the aspects of both the economy and culture. Hence, there are more and more people concerned about its pros and cons. In my opinion, I believe that this phenomenon brings more benefits to improvements, while the deterioration of national identities still cannot be neglected. First and foremost, the economic profits gained from international cooperations are dramatically substantial in recent decades. For instance, China as the largest exporter in the world since the early 2000s allowed authorizes and related-corporations to earn an average of one hundred billion Chinese Yuan monthly. Additionally, due to the global business, it also creates enormous job opportunities for local residents. With job security and income stability, this is advantageous to improve these employees’ life quality. Furthermore, cultural communities may help with dispelling prejudice and stereotypes. This means that if individuals can simply access the information overseas, it would be extremely useful for observing and understanding people’s values and habits from other countries. Taking Korean dramas as an example, Chinese residents could learn about Korean traditions and social habits such as Hanbok dresses and honorifics by watching Korean TV. Meanwhile, some Chinese TV series shown in South Korea provides local audiences with a better understanding of Chinese values and traditions. This leads to a more friendly environment among Korean and Chinese public. Nevertheless, it is not saying that we could ignore the drawbacks globalization bringing to national identities. It is true that someone may follow overseas leading roles and abandon their original backgrounds and appearances for imitating their models. According to the latest news, a Japanese man, who is addicted to Britney Spears, did a large number of cosmetic surgeries to look similar to his idol, but he resulted in a poor health condition because of side effects. I believe that it is not a common situation which is unlikely to influence massive individuals, and this can be tackled by patriotic and higher education. In conclusion, even though the international connections may cause few people trying to copy their idols and give up their origins, it is undeniable that it also provides more significant advantages on developing economy and eliminating international stereotypes.