University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that no one regardless of their financial situation should pay for their university education. However, I totally disagree with this statement. Proponents of the idea mentioned above may say that in order to achieve social equality, tertiary education should be free for everyone. Undoubtedly, there are people who have the necessary qualifications required to enrol in a college, but choose to work after high school just because they cannot afford expensive study fees. Hence, making university education free to everyone can definitely solve the inequality occurring due to financial background, but it is not an effective and reasonable way to reach social equality. One of the reasons that college studies should be paid for is that we should provide help to the ones in need instead of everyone. People who are already able to afford the fees can use the extra money on places like having tuition lessons, or even applying to overseas summer schools, giving them an educational advantage over people in poverty. Instead of making it totally free, providing educational grants or subsidies to students in need can solve social equality more directly. Furthermore, the government have to pay the bills for everyone if it is free, which increases its financial burden. There are a lot of social problems that the government needs to solve, such as housing or even increasing suicide rates. Putting huge resources into removing university study fees means that the government need to put fewer resources into other problems, which results in neglecting other groups of people in need. In conclusion, due to the fact that there are other methods to achieve the same goal of social equality, and making it free will increase the financial burden on the government, I totally disagree that university education should be free to everyone.