Some people think it is one of the best ways to solve environmental problems by increasing the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the last 2 decades, globally we have seen a rise in various car manufactures. Companies have been experimenting with their business model in order to cater to people from all walks of life and help fulfil the aspiration of owning a vehicle. The increase in car ownership has led to unseen environmental issues. Personally, I agree that the best way to solve environmental problems is by increasing the cost of fuel. In this essay, I will discuss my viewpoint. Owning a 4 wheeler as always been a symbol of wealth in society. There are plenty of schemes provided by the bank and other financial institutions who make it easier for one to be able to possess one. The auto industry is the single greatest engine of economic growth in the world. In a country like India, the government depends on the automobile industry for its economic growth, thus leading poor regulations around auto ownership which has led to environmental destructions. The administration should enforce stringent laws so that people don't feel the urge of owning a car like for eg: increasing the cost of fuel which will restrict middle-class citizens to think through their decisions. Additionally, other measure can be that the taxes on autmobiles is increased. This will lead to individuals turning towards using public transport. In conclusion, shared rides are an efificient method of communiting from one place to another, thus resulting in less cars which in return causes less traffic and saves the environment