International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the years, global tourism has been flourished quite significantly bringing a myriad of benefits with it. However, a few negative impacts of it on the locals and the environment are often highlighted. In my perspective, despite some potential drawbacks of it on the locals and the surroundings, it has a lot of positive aspects to offer. The most positive influence of international touristry is definitely the availability of earning opportunities for locals. For instance, the inhabitants of the tourist destination could easily establish their restaurant or hotel business and most of them might be able to expand it relatively faster since the visitors are always attracted to those places. Furthermore, foreign travellers bring substantial funds to spend there, which certainly add up to the economy of that particular area. These factors contribute to the progress of that area and eventually help the locals in improving their living standards. On the contrary, a fundamental drawback of it is higher living prices for the locals. For example, It has been seen in most tourist traps that the residents of it have to suffer from over-priced rental costs and expensive utilities due to the commercialization of those places. Consequently, the locals are forced to dwell at distant societies from the city centre, resulting in inconvenience to reach their workplaces. On top of it, the environment of such places deteriorate drastically owing to overly crowded streets, heavy traffic on the roads and various restaurants dotted everywhere. Additionally, the weak management adds-up on it, thus most of the tourist attractions get untidy and littered over time. In conclusion, this essay had described the positive and negative impacts of global tourism in detail. Even though the shortcomings of it are pretty noticeable, yet the benefits have comparatively more to offer. Therefore, I opine that the advantages of global tourism outweigh the disadvantages.