The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased dramatically in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend

Obesity is one of the significant problems of humankind. Many teenagers from western community suffered from being overweight in recent years. This essay will discuss the possible reasons and consequences of that. Recently, adolescents in western countries tend to gather in restaurants such as Mcdonalds, Burger King and KFC. In these cafes,meat and chickens are grilled with enormous quantities of sun oil and the prices of burgers or rolls are quite cheap. Because of low prices,many teenagers have begun to substitute healthy food to junk food. It leads to problems with extra weight. For example, the Independent Organisation of Healthy Nutrition counted that a per cent of diseases connected with obesity among young people from 16 to 18 years old has increased to 67% for the last five years. They claimed that it happened due to the distribution of fast- food chains. Thus, eating junk food can lead to obesity. Secondly, in the western countries people do not have a habit of cooking by themselves as in the eastern ones, for example, in Russia or Ukraine. It can be linked with tradition where western people work as hard as they can which appeared recently. The possible effect of this is teenagers have to eat in fast foods or cafes which leads to overweight. For instance, European monitoring company published research that in France more than 76% of young people under the age of18 years old have to eat out of their house. In conclusion, in the western world,a tendency has appeared that adolescents consume junk food due to plenty of fast foods and impossibility of the parents to cook healthy food by themselves which can bring to obesity in teenagers.