Some people say that economic development is necessary to reduce the poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stopped immediately to stop damaging the environment. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In this contemporary era, the world is changing rapidly and dramatically. Economic development is an important thing to counter some gigantic problems like poverty and unemployment in each and every nation. However, some obedient citizens believe that it harms the environment in that way, which will not be irreversible, so it should be halted immediately. I cent per cent agree with the latter view. First and foremost, economic growth is the backbone of any nation. It definitely helps them to overcome poverty and unemployment, because it offers a huge amount of job opportunities. Due to it, if people have jobs, then they will able to buy basic amenities, because of this they would have chances to improve their lifestyles. On the other hand, this development creates more harm to the environment, owing to achieve it, industries and companies, not only have to generate energy but also manufacture products and in this process, lots of fuel is used, which creates pollution by emitting reek and particles into the atmosphere. This eventually damages the environment. In my opinion, to halt economic growth is not the best option. Nations must find another way to stop polluting the environment. For example, nowadays, everybody knows that renewable energy sources are the cleanest energy resources because they harness their energy through the natural sources such as sun, wind and water, they do not emit poisonous gases into the atmosphere. To conclude, the government should enact stricter laws for damaging environments, so it can be reduced greatly. Also, think about alternative energy sources, which generate energy without polluting the environment.