Nowadays people live longer after they retire. How does this affect individuals and society? What can be done about this?

With the chain of medical advances and breakthrough in the present society, the increasing trend in the average life-span of the elderly even after their retirement is already a norm. This phenomenon, however, has accompanying drawbacks on the ageing members of the society themselves, and the community in general. This issue, though, can be easily resolved through the government's initiative by imposing ordinances and law dedicated to this. On the personal aspect, the elderly are negatively affected by the prolongation of their life. Firstly, as their age advances further, they are afflicted with a variety of debilitating illnesses that delimits their autonomy. For instance, ageing-related problems like osteoporosis, arthritis and circulatory problems are only some of the few expected health problems that geriatrics will soon experience. As a result, they would depend their mobility and activities of daily living to their family and would not enjoy the added years on their life. Secondly, in the aspect of society, the government is allocating a significant proportion of taxpayers fund for their healthcare services. In order to cope up with other public expenses, governments are imposing higher taxes and tariff to the other members of the society. Nevertheless, there are several measures that can be tackled bureaucratically in order to address this issue. First, the government should impose regulations mandating big companies to apportion a fraction of their sales revenue to any projects that support the elderly as a whole. For example, Johnson's and Johnsons company is only one among the many stellar companies in Singapore that monthly donates to healthcare agencies in return of giving free health check-ups and laboratory to the elderly. Secondly, government authorities should make it compulsory for every citizen to save up for their early retirement by way of contributing early for their future pension. So when they grow old, they would have enough money to support themselves. In conclusion, through good governance that supports the welfare of the ageing population beyond their retirement age, the longevity will not be at all a problem despite exiguous disadvantages that it confers to the elderly themselves and the community in general.