Evebody should be allowed admission to university study programs regardless of their level of academic ability. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Securing admission in institutes of higher education often depends on the merits and academic background of the students. Some argue that all people should have the opportunity to study in universities irrespective of their knowledge and skills. I disagree with this argument and believe that admission should be merit-based. To begin with, the most demanded academic courses often have limited seats, and therefore, all applicants cannot be admitted. This is not surprising because, unlike schools were all applicants are admitted, universities are for specialized learning. This results in universities using certain selection criteria such as academic qualifications and other skills to decide whether a student is eligible for admission. By doing this, institutions can secure that that only the meritorious enter. For instance, a recent survey in The New York Times showed that in the US only 20% of those applying for medicine courses are able to secure a place for themselves. Another good reason not to admit all students is that university programmes require them to demonstrate a certain level of intellectual capacity. Not everybody can become a lawyer or a doctor even if seats are available. Furthermore, a student who is not capable of learning a specific subject will not benefit from joining it. Take for example a student who has no aptitude for medicine will not ultimately become a good doctor and probably would harm patients. Hence it is evident that if a student joins a course which he is not capable of comprehending, it will benefit neither him nor the society. To conclude, in my opinion, admission to universities should be based on the academic credentials of the students. Only then will our universities be able to produce high achievers who can contribute something to society.