Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that nurses must have strong medical skill. Some, in contrast, argues that there is other important knowledge such as compassion, patient and detail-oriented. I think while nurses need some medical understanding, other qualities are equally important. It is clear that technical knowledge is crucial for health care workers. Nurses need to follow their patients' condition every day, thus quickly recognising new symptoms can be extremely helpful. They need to report them to doctors so that the doctors may adapt by changing medicines, which help to cure patients quicker. Furthermore, highly skills nurses may also reduce chances of failure in tasks they perform every day such as taking blood or finding vends. However, there are other skills that health care workers need to be trained. The most important one may be patient as they need to take care of sick people. In fact, since patients often face with frustration and tiredness due to their illness, they may refuse to eat or to consume medicine. Therefore, nurses need to calm them down and persuade them to continue with the treatment. Secondly, compassion is also a key-value because without understanding the need of patients, nurses may not be able to feel for them and treat them nicely. Finally, detail-oriented is also needed because nurses often have to prepare medicines. If they do not check them carefully, they may make wrong proportions, which can cause severe issues. To conclude, I believe that there are some important qualities of nurses such as medical, compassion, patient and detail-oriented. The training may not only focus on technical skills but also need to enhance soft skills.