Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a result of the growth of supermarkets in some countries, many local businesses will die out. Some people argue that without the local business, the local community will not exist. I do not agree with this view. In my opinion, even though the closure of traditional enterprises may bring some difficulties to the local community, it will not endanger their existence. Lack of traditional shops in nearby society many impose some problems for the local people. First, if they need to buy an item, they have to travel all way long to the supermarket to get that item as there will be no nearby shops. It is more expensive and time consuming for the community. In other words, they have to go more distances just to get that item. For example, if they visited an unexpected guest, they have to go through all the way to treat them adequately. Although there may be no store in the local area, it may not hinder the presence of local people. This is to say that there is a number of shopping malls and supermarkets in every town and cities. Also, people are fond of visiting these kinds of places for fun and entertainment. As they provide other facilities like cinema and various restaurants with affordable prices. Cheap transportation facilities are also available to commute within the town. In conclusion, despite the growth of several malls and supermarkets, it may result in the decline of traditional retails centre but will not affect the presence of local communities.