Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

With an ever-increasing concern about online learning programs in educational institutions, some individuals have opined that distance learning via the Internet has greater advantages than traditional classroom-based programs. This essay will, however, provide reasons why I strongly believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages of the given opinion. To begin with, some individuals argue that online learning programs will bring recognition for several reasons. From the perspective of educational institutions, distance learning courses provide opportunities for a wider range of recruitment including those who might have financial, geographical and time constraints to attend classroom-based curriculum, which increases the number of enrollments that leads to making a profit for institutions. Furthermore, those educational institutions can financially benefit from the activated implementation of online courses due to the circumstances where it reduces the expenses associated with campus facilities and infrastructures for classroom-based programs. Moreover, online courses eliminate the necessity to commute to school and may require fewer resources for both students and instructors which brings further convenience. In spite of those reasons mentioned above, I completely contend that it has more disadvantages than advantages for students. Providing a few agreements based on the previous arguments, moving to students can illuminate a different perspective. First, online classes offer very minimal opportunities to engage and socialize with other peers and this intrudes students to learn social norms and values to be well-fitted members of society. Second, distant learning programs heavily rely on technology, which can cause difficulties in learning such as disconnectedness of the internet, learning platform glitches and not functioning devices. Thus, these challenges may weaken the motivation to learn from students and bring tiredness to instructors. Furthermore, there must be other factors to be weighed in appreciating the actual causal relationship between online learning programs and the financial benefits of educational institutions. In conclusion, some individuals argue that there are more advantages to distance learning programs in educational institutions. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that more considerations of other parties' facing issues should be taken into account to achieve more sustainable advantages.