Some people say that the education system is the only critical factor in the development of a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that education plays a vital role in ensuring the prosperity of a nation. While some people believe that merely educating the masses can lead a country towards success, others argue that several other factors are equally important. I completely agree with the former statement and this essay will highlight how education propels a country towards economic and social progression. First and foremost, educational institutions produce professionals, so that they may contribute to the betterment of the economy. For example, in Japan, from a plumber to a nuclear scientist one cannot work as a professional unless one undergoes the required practical training and obtains the mandatory certificate, degree or diploma from the concerned academic body. This practice helps educators and economists to work together and form beneficial economic policies since the entire data related to a worker’s roles and responsibilities, compensation and benefits, career progression and the like is available to them. Secondly, a proper education system promotes high moral values which contribute positively to the development of a society. In addition, educated people are more aware of their rights and responsibilities and this enables them to work together for the welfare of their nation. Education also helps eradicate corruption. It makes people aware that good governance is their right and then they will not want to pay bribes for getting things done. Educated people also tend to be healthier because they know what is good and bad for their health. In conclusion, although there may be several factors that affect a country’s well-being, in my opinion, the education system is the cornerstone of economic and social progress.