Question: Some people think it is better to build more public parks and sports facilities in new towns rather than shopping malls. To what extent do you agree or disagree??

Some people think it is better to build more public parks and sports facilities in new towns rather than shopping malls. I strongly agree with this statement for several reasons. Firstly, parks and sport facilities improve the lifestyle of citizen. Taking into account parks, peolple could walk in the nature inside a city and this could have 2 major benefits: First, a short time in order to reach the park is needed compared to driving to the countryside. Secondly, parks and trees create oxygen and helps in purifying the air. To cite an example, Central Park in New York, create more than 30% of all the oxygen available. Talking about sport facilities, they could improve the general healt of citizen as people will be less sick. Studies suggest that nearly 50% of all people that uses sport facilities experience less accidents and healt problem compared to people that don't use to train. this can result in a huge saving in public expenses related to social health. Shopping malls, on the other hands create a lot of negative aspects such as increasing of pollution and traffic jams in the nearby roads. Moreover there is no nature as big parking lots are required in order to accomodate all the visitors. Although they could create new employment as more workers are needed in that area, is beneficial for the economy and also is beneficial for governments as they could increase their taxes wages. For example, studies suggest that nearly 10% of all the US population works by a shopping mall. To sum up, it's extremely important to allow people to train and to walk in the nature, by doing so we could imporve our lifestyle and also we can contribute to a more ecologycal enviroments.