Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time.

Although there is no doubt that our brain needs some free time to get rest, it is important to consider leisure time could be used for certain activities which will sharpen our minds. In my view, the latter argument is true. I will explain and support my opinion in the following essay. Firstly, there are many drawbacks to the former view. The first and the foremost problem is that when we get nothing to do, our brain has the tendency to march towards evil ways. With regard to this, there is an old proverb "Empty mind is devil's workshop". To explain it further, a study conducted in India in 2015 states that 95% of human minds who are left vacant think about criminal things that can harm others. Moreover, the brain with no activity always chases unconsciousness. For instance, whenever a brain does rest, it gives the vibe to go to sleep. The more we sleep, the capacity of sleep increases. This will lead to less concentration during our activity times as well. On the other side, there are advantages of getting ourselves busy in activities. Firstly, it is said that mind and body are made for doing work continuously, the most part of the time when we awake. For example, while keeping our mind involved in reading and solving puzzles, we are sharpening it apparently. This helps in getting our mentality more active during the time when we are actually working. Apart from this, we must understand the value of time too. The leisure time could be used for broadening our horizons. This will help us in achieving success in a faster way. To illustrate, a ree hour could be used for learning new things which can help us in our future. In conclusion, while vacant hour can be disastrous for our coming life such as the decrease in efficiency and go astray if set to get rest, there is a way that can be helpful by getting our free moment spent in activities. Personally, I would like to utilize my time in creative activities rather than just do nothing.