Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree ?

Though social media is very popular these days and definitely has provided cheap and instant linking with people distantly located, members of our society are getting severly impacted. There is no authentication, and restriction of information shared on the web. Web portals such as Facebook lure young and old crowd into vicious traps, which leads to serious results. News channels have reported many incidences where teeanagers were menatally harrassed and forced to commit suicide; many matured citizens have lost their hard earned money to fraudsters using technology. Such platforms are very devious because there is no control over the information. Moreover, people are loosing the charm of relationships to the artificial world. These virtual portals lacks emotions and feelings as everything is crafted. There are many triats which are identified as essentials to create a positive impression such as: facial reactions, voice levels, and body language. Such things are missing on an online platform, and thus making our society emotionless. This technology is silently making us mechanical, and dry, which is alarming. The potential of this tool is not hidden from the miscreants as well. People with bad intentions try to take advantage of the national and international situations. For example, there are a lot of fake videos and content which is posted on the web posing China infiltrating neighbouring boundaries of Taiwan as they are having tensions between them. Such incidences, if taken on the face value, can harm many innocent citizens and countries. Therefore, it is important to understand the capacity of such websites as a weapon of mass destruction, and must be monitored closely. Relying on information technology at length may prove fatal, eventhough it has proved to be most economical. It should be used cautiously to discourage deceiving of people, and building meaningful relationships.