During last twenty years, the assessment of students has undergone a major transformation. Many educational institutions have shifted their focus from traditional examination towards variety of innovative assessment techniques, as they believe traditional examination results are not often true to student's ability. To what extent do you agree with this?

For more than a century, traditional examinations to assess student’s abilities were in place and this is still in use in many parts of the world. However, a more suitable and modern approach has been adopted by many educational institutions and this is often regarded as a better technique to evaluate a pupil’s learning ability and knowledge. I personally opine that innovative modern assessment techniques are more effective, and this essay will give the reasons for this statement. To begin with, the traditional assessment has shown its detriments because it was mostly based on learning by-heart skills and the ability to memorize. For instance, someone with little knowledge of a subject can get a higher grade by memorising answers. On the other hand, the innovative assessment allows educational institutions and universities to evaluate their students more accurately. In this technique, apart from memory, skills students are asked to show other skills like the ability to communicate, persuade and so on. For instance, in Law University, through the interview, students have been given a situation and they will have the chance to apply the law regulation to resolve the matter. Moreover, a paper-based exam system allows students to cheat on the exam and pass it without even studying hard. On the other hand, innovative assessment techniques may build lots of efficacious skills for students. For instance, oral presentation, assignments work, and other modern methods of evaluation can enhance a learner's knowledge in depth, creativity, critical thinking, and more important ability to use the knowledge in the practical world. In conclusion, evaluating a learner accurately is paramount and the best method for this should be in place. No doubt the formal examination system has been used for a long, but the time has come to adopt a more accurate and practical assessment system and hence the shift towards a combination of innovative assessment systems is inevitable.