Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Societies with heritage in the arts had been considered culturally sophisticated and advanced. Few people believe that it is worth spending finances for the betterment of society instead of sculptures, which is a waste of resources. I strongly agree with this view because the government should spend tax-payers’ money not only to generate employment but also to provide free discipline. The job opportunity is the primary need for an individual. In the amid of financial crisis, lawmakers need to come up with economic plans to generate employment for the people instead of spending it on lavishness and sculptures. As the population needs financial aid for their survival in the era of recession and a minority of them will have any interest in the artwork. For instance, in Newcastle, UK, a city suffering from a higher rate of unemployment, yet the council has commissioned a large sculpture “Angel of the North” Financing job creation projects would undoubtedly have been more practical for the local community. Adding to the above, training is the primary right for the citizens of a nation. It is difficult for the people, who are below the poverty line, to plan quality study for their children. Henceforth, it will be wise for elected bodies to plan educational projects which aid these people with free schooling, and along with modernizing the current schooling structure. The mention steps will improve the literacy rate that will benefit society. For example, the literacy rate of Kerala, India, is 100% and the only reason is that their legislature spends more on strengthening the scholarship structure rather than on sculptures. Hence, it has proved that the current generation needs a better literacy arrangement rather than statues. To conclude, few people have a belief that expenditure made by the government on sculptures instead of the betterment of citizens is a misuse of people’s taxes. I strongly agreed with this view because the government should spend expenditure on creating job opportunities for the community and for developing a free and better teaching arrangement.