In countries all over the world, the volume of road traffic is increasing at a faster rate than new roads are built. What are the causes of this problem? What are some potential solutions?

The majority of countries around the world face a common issue: traffic congestion and this problem is increasing year after year. This essay will discuss this issue and highlight some of the causes, and then suggest some potential solutions. On the one hand, it is clear that the volume of road traffic is increasing nowadays. There are many reasons for this problem. Firstly, the global population has risen notably in recent years. This increase reflects on the capacity of people living in towns. Secondly, the roads in many countries are not maintained continuously, causing traffic jams due to their small width. Also, the percentage of drivers who own cars increased, particularly in modern areas. For instance, studies showed that the number of vehicle owners doubled in the last decade, which gave rise to congestion. On the other hand, there are many suggested solutions to face this issue. The governments should encourage people to use public transportation. Before that, they should be keen on doing regular maintenance for public transit. Another point to consider, authorities may revise the price and make sure it is affordable for all society categories. Offering bus and train ticket discounts for students and kids, as well. In addition ، for example, imposing a tax on citizens for owning a car, and not being tolerant of breaking driving regulations, makes people more inclined to use public transportation. To conclude, there is no denying the fact that the volume of road traffic jams has been increasing over the last years. There are many reasons that cause this problem, and there are a number of solutions.