Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to the widespread presence of mass media, many purposes the use of this media coverage is to raise viewers’ awareness of social affairs by integrating educational content into popular TV shows. Despite the potential benefits, I would suggest that such a shift would be counter-effective and an infringement on viewers’ rights. On the one hand, it might be beneficial if information related to social affairs is incorporated in popular TV entertainment programs in engaging and captivating ways. A lot of people believe that the importance of being updated social issues, including crime, environmental problems, and corruptions occurring on their daily life via the media channel, could allow them to be more aware of potential risks and threats as well as solve the problems by taking actions, whether it is putting pressure on the authorities or participating in social campaigns. As a result, they can proactively protect themselves from possible dangers and improve the quality of their living standards. On the other hand, I would argue that such a suggestion might be counter-effective. A switch towards social affairs seems to more irrelevant to the needs of viewers who seek to be entertained and enjoyable from TV programs because these viewers have swamped with responsibilities, expectations, and pressure in a fast-paced world, leading them to the feelings of frustration and tiredness. However, I believe that there are more feasible ways to educate the public about social issues and ensure a sense of entertainment for audiences simultaneously instead of using TV entertainment programs. To be more specific, the form of vivid videos and images via social media platforms such as Facebook and Instagram could reach a large proportion of the population to pay attention to social responsibilities. Such a practice is able to respect viewers’ choice instead of putting a compulsory on their own preferences, meaning catering for a wider range of needs whether to be entertained or to be socially aware. In conclusion, despite certain merits attached to such a change, the idea of turning the focus and aim of entertainment TV programs onto informing viewers about social issues seems impractical to me.