In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays more and more people are consuming junk food, which can lead to many health problems. Some people think that governments should increase the tax on fast food as a solution to tackle this issue. In my opinion, I moderately disagree with this point of view. This essay will argue why a higher tax on junk food can not make people change their eating habits and completely solve this problem. Some people believe that increasing tax is an effective way to make people eat less fast food. People tend to take price into consideration when they choose what to eat as the price is one of the most fundamental factors of making a purchasing decision. For example, research reveals that many consumers tend to compare price when purchasing items. Consequently, some people have good reasons to believe that governments should raise the tax to have people purchase less junk food. Despite a higher tax might make people change their eating habits, it is more likely to only have an impact on people who are eating much fast food because of its lower price. For instance, a recent survey shows that only one- third of people who tend to eat prepackaged food on a regular basis as a result of the lower price and the majority of people like the flavour. If governments do not have a plan to educate people how vital to eat more healthily and how to eat a balanced diet, they are more likely to fail to decrease the number of people who are suffering from health problems caused by eating habits. Therefore, to raise the tax can not be an efficient way to make people eat less. In conclusion, an increasing number of people are facing health problems caused by overeating fast food. Some people believe that it is essential for governments to raise the tax on fast food. This essay argued why a higher tax can not be an effective way to solve this problem. In my view, governments should help people to be more aware of the importance of eating more healthily.