Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. I strongly agree with this statement for several reasons. Firstly, it's noticeable how computers are improving our lifestyle more and more. Also, during the early years of this century, computers helped us with a huge number of tasks by improving our work. Normally machines are more efficient compared to humans. Furthermore, they are able to operate with no interruption nearly every day, thus, increasing more and more productivity. To cite an example, factory robots that are widely used in nearly each production plant, are driven by machines. Moreover, recent studies suggest that the production rate is increased by 80% where these automated robots are used compared to production plants that still use the human workforce. In addition, computers have brought enormous benefit to other sectors too. With the invention of the internet,everyone is now able to access a huge number of information in real-time. Also, they brought a huge benefit to the medical sector. For instance, nowadays it's possible for doctors to operate their patients remotely with the aid of the internet, nevertheless, this kind of equipment is so expensive that needs to be funded by private companies. Although, even if this kind of researchers are very expensive we need to explore and study more and more as this technology could improve our health. To sum up, I strongly believe that computers are one of the most important inventions of the last centuries for the reasons that I explained before. I think that both governments and institution need to take severe measures in order to allow further research on this technology as we could end up with an improved lifestyle.