Many children these days have an unhealthy lifestyle. Some people believe that both schools and parents are responsible for solving this problem, while others argue against this. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many children, nowadays, lead a sedentary and inactive style of life, some people believe that the responsibility lies within schools and parents, while others are opposing this. This essay agrees that parents and teachers should educate children about the dangers of an unhealthy lifestyle as well as discussing both points of view. On the one hand, children spend most of their time in their schools and homes. Parents have a great influence on their personalities; if the mother and father of a child are healthy and athletic, the child will most likely become interested in physical exercises and stick to a healthy diet. Moreover, schools and educational facilities play a crucial role in raising children's awareness about the dangers of sedentary lifestyles. Teachers can explain the potential harms that may arise from an inactive life. Also, children can become fit by taking part in physical exercise classes. For example, schools can organize sports tournaments in which children can take part in. As a result, they would learn the importance of becoming physically active. On the other hand, many suggest that advancements in technology are to be blamed for. Devices such as video game consoles, TVs, portable tablets attract so many school children. They spend so much time on them that they do not play outside with their friends anymore, and they prefer to spend their free time on screens instead of socializing and playing with their peers. For instance, the average time spent on portable gadgets and video games by children has been increasing each year. Therefore, many young people suffer from health-related problems such as obesity. As a consequence, this further complicates the problem of physical inactivity that is prevailing within children, especially teenagers. In conclusion, although technology might have worsened the problem of the declining fitness within children, in my perspective, parents, and schools play a key role in combating the ever-rising challenge of physical inactivity of children.