Caring for children is important in any society. All parents should be required to take childcare courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the pivotal role of nurturing in a child’s comprehensive development, the question of whether or not parents ’ knowledge is sufficient has garnered widespread interest. One common perspective that many people, including myself, disapprove of is that taking a parenting course should be compulsory for parents. Supporters of the fact that parents are obliged to attend childcare courses cite the fact that such classes provide a deeper insight into caring knowledge in different developmental stages of offspring, therefore, they have a better understanding of children’s needs and take the best care of them. Nonetheless, this thinking fails to factor in the fact that many parents, especially those who struggle with financial issues, have to work extra hours, even in the evening and the weekends, in order to secure their livelihood. That being the case, forcing them to take those courses can negatively affect their work and lives. This is why parents should be free to decide whether or not they want to attend parenting classes instead of being forced to do so. What is more, caring skills can be learnt from their families, cultures and surrounding people. Perhaps more importantly, fathers and mothers learn how to nurture their offspring effectively by their instincts, by trial and error to better understand their own children. The presence of this phenomenon is observable in Vietnam, parents have been raising their kids without any formal instructions or official interference for thousands of years. That being the case, parents can observe and try different strategies like verbal warnings or slight punishment methods when faced with a badly-behaved child to gradually get to know what works to correct the behaviours. In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, taking a caring course can bring some benefits for parents to get to know their offspring but it should be optional instead of mandatory.