Many people think that old buildings should be knocked down to give way to new buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the context of the exponential rate of urban spiral these days, the scarcity of land resources has become a thorny issue. In this light, many people argue that old establishments should be demolished to spare the place for more modern ones. I will agree with this statement only if down-graded buildings are to be at the expense, not the culturally important ones. It stands to reason that obsolete and run-down establishments should be knocked down due to their potential risk of blemishing the cityscape. Such buildings are usually in bad conditions, which may negatively affect the appearance of the city as a whole, especially when synchronization is particularly favoured by city planners. Together with the deeply entrenched issue of land shortage, it is reasonable that obsolete buildings are superseded by modern buildings with superior quality. Moreover, due to their poor conditions, they are more susceptible to collapse, which may act as a safety hazard to nearby inhabitants. However, ancient architectural works should be well protected at any cost due to their cultural and economic values. These buildings can be considered as a time-keeper which helps the public to study more about the past. For example, Hue Imperial Citadel enables visitors to have a clearer look into the life of the Royal family in Vietnam, helping them to embrace the culture. Furthermore, the economic potentials of ancient buildings can not be overlooked since they are common travel destinations for tourists. In this spectrum, not only revenue from tourism is greatly boosted, but the cultural values of the host country are more likely to be acquired. Moreover, ancient buildings can also be an infinite source of inspiration for modern architects. It is often said that fashion is a cycle, and the public are again in favour of medieval architectural designs. For example, buildings with Renaissance designs have ceaselessly sparked ideas for architects, and those who can integrate such patterns in a modern building can enjoy many economic advantages. In conclusion, I contend with the suggestion that out-of-date constructions should be gotten rid of due to the need for a more efficient use of land and their risk of dilapidation. However, time-honoured buildings should be preserved since they can act as an embodiment for culture and generate profits for a wide range of industries.