Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while other think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It has always been an issue of debate that whether the subject of craft should be a compulsory subject or not. Some people are in support of it while others argue that is is just a wastage of time. I, personally believe that art should be given equal preference as other subjects be it science, maths or English. This essay will elucidate both these sides followed by my own perspective as well. On the one side, some critics condemn that the subject of art is not useful for students because it will not help them in future and even now it will just waste their precious time which they can devote to other crucial subjects. A study, for instance, conducted in the UK has shown that modern parents are much inclined towards teaching their children tough subjects such as science and maths in lieu of arts because it may seem to them that it could help them to achieve higher endeavours in their lives. On the other hand, the raft is also an imperative subject which learners can enjoy and also can achieve better in it as well. Since in schools there is extreme pressure on students to learn tough subjects and perform better, they hardly get some time for themselves and amusement. The art subject is the only subject which students can enjoy to learn and feel relax while learning. What is more, some students can perform tremendously better in it and even they can achieve higher success in their life because of arts and their interest as it is not essential that to get successful in life one should study toughest subjects only, they can acquire far better by doing great in this as well. Thus, art should be a vital subject in school curriculum so that, the students who are interested in it can learn it from the school level and others can also enjoy and study it as another syllabus. To conclude, this essay has highlighted that why some people are against choosing art subject as important in school curriculum due to their preference for other subjects. I opine that it should be equally essential as others and should be an indispensable part of the yllabus as students can also achieve higher in it as well and find it interesting as compare to other subjects.