1Some people say that the bicycles are a good, modern means of transportation. Other say riding a bicycle has clear disadvantages. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Despite the world being conquered by motorised vehicles, bicycles remain to be in use though with some controversies. It is deemed by some enthusiasts that bicycles have myriads advantages while the critics condemn their practice owing to noticeable loopholes. I am in agreement with the latter view as I believe their usage as a means of commuting has long been superseded by fast-driven vehicles that are more in sync with the needs of modern commuters. On the one hand, bicycles offer pragmatic benefits to its users, making it a popular choice among many. Unlike other modes of transit, it is economically feasible and incurs no additional maintenance costs to the travellers. The fact that it does not run on fuel, makes it a sustainable alternative to vehicles run on diesel, petrol, bringing down the incidence of pollution in many urban centres. Norway, for instance, has successfully brought the level of toxic gases down by encouraging its dwellers to adoption bicycles for the daily commute.What is more, including bicycle in the daily routine of travel is observed as a sound form of exercise, which gives proven health benefits to its riders including stamina build-up, blood pressure regulation, to name a few. On the other hand, however, bicycles have certain limitations that restrict their use to certain users only. Firstly, to ride a bike, one needs to be physically fit and should not have any breathing ailments.Indeed, a bicycle ride allows one to experience nature more closely, nevertheless, such wonderful rides cannot be enjoyed by elderly and diseased people. Secondly, it is next to possible to rely upon a bike ride in harsh weather such as on a windy or rainy day, eliminating it from the list of regular commuting options. To conclude, although people would continue to hold varying perspectives upon the usage of bikes, I believe a bike will continue to enjoy its status as an occasional mode of physical endeavour, making it a popular choice among children and health- freaks, however, as a regular means of commute, the practice of bicycles has long been superseded by motor-driven vehicles, which are more in sync with the needs of modern commuters.